In the UK, immigration law is a highly complex subject. Currently the government is directing its efforts toward a policy of managed migration. Therefore, the focus is placed on a migrant’s skills and the benefits he or she may provide the country. In turn, a points-based system has been introduced.

Points-based Immigration

Points-based immigration is a somewhat new concept. A Highly Skilled Migrant Programme (HSMP) was put into place during a one-year trial period in 2002. It was officially added to the immigration system in 2003. Before the implementation of the points-based system, there were over 70 different ways to enter the UK, with about 50 of the methods supporting work or study.

How the Tiers Are Classified

According to some of the best immigration solicitors in Leeds, five different tiers are featured for immigration, each of which are further categorised with differing requirements. This criteria must be supported and met before a visa can be issued for entry. The tiers are as follows:

  • Tier 1 = High-value immigrants
  • Tier 2 = Workers who are skilled
  • Tier 3 = Workers who have a lower skillset
  • Tier 4 = Students
  • Tier 5 = Temporary workers

How Points Are Assessed

The above tiers contain different categories, which award points for various attributes. The allocation of the points ensures that an applicant will benefit the UK once he or she gains access. The points are awarded to demonstrate the migrant’s ability, age, or experience. They also reflect the need for services in a migrant’s chosen field. Therefore, you need to be clear on what you need to do to gain entry and citizenship.